Global data and application standards for bar codes that use the globally recognized GS1 Identification Keys to automatically identify things such as trade items, locations, logistic units, and assets.

Based on the symbol used to encode data, GS1 barcodes can be categorized into two broad categories:

  • GS1 barcodes with linear/1D symbols which include:
    • EAN/UPC
    • GS1 DataBar
    • GS1-128
    • ITF-14
  • GS1 BarCodes with 2D symbols which include:
    • GS1 DataMatrix (‘2D matrix’ symbol)
    • GS1 composite component (‘2D linear’ symbol - It is called a composite component because it is only used with a linear barcode like GS1-128 or GS1 DataBar)

Read more about different types of barcodes here.

Download Barcode and ID Key Standards here.

GS1 eCom indicates the GS1 standards used for electronic business messaging or Electronic Data Interchange (EDI). GS1 eCom enables transfer of structured data, based on agreed standards, from one computer to another, by electronic means and with minimal human intervention. This provides organisations and opportunity transfer data at a cheaper cost than of traditional methods.

GS1 eCom is Based on two components: GS1 EANCOM and GS1 XML.

Read more on GS1 eCom

A new global standards system that combines RFID (radio frequency identification) technology, existing communications network infrastructure and the Electronic Product Code (a number for uniquely identifying an item) to enable immediate and automatic identification and tracking of an item through the whole supply chain globally, resulting in improved efficiency and visibility of the supply chain.

Read more on GS1 EPC Global

GDSN is the GS1 Global Data Synchronisation Network® , built around the Global Registry, GDSN-certified data pools, the GS1Data Quality Framework and GS1 Global Product Classification, which when combined provide a powerful environment for secure and continuous synchronisation of accurate data.

Read more on GS1 GSDN